Fitness Journey: Fitness Dilemma

About 4 Months into my journey!
About 4 Months into my journey!

I never thought I’d be the type of person into Fitness. It was always a dream of mine to have abs instead of a muffin top but that was a dream I never pursued on a serious note. I occasionally tried to be this Gym-goer, but always ended up wasting money on memberships and cute cropped leggings (just from being lazy.)

Instead I opted for excuses to not go instead of reasons to go. My favourite excuse was thinking “it was a hectic week” and then I’d sit down with a bag of Doritos to watch a movie. That is my favourite because, now if I have a hectic, busy week, that is my reason to go.

Nowadays I am that 4-5 times weekly gym-goer with the “direct debt membership” (hardcore I know.) On Saturday I spent £85 on a pair of really sexy supportive trainers, after about three weeks of swooning over them and I quite often buy new gym pieces – my wardrobe has an ever-growing section for Fitness clothes!

IMG_20150117_184213
New Kicks: Nike Air Max Thea

This past year was tough for me and I found the only way to help get over deal with that was intense exercise at the gym. It is crazy how going through so much pain that I would seek for my muscles to be sore in order to feel better.

It makes me happy to think that this, fitness thing, is a huge part of my life now.

I am in noway an expert in this field – I mean I don’t even have #LegDay or anything – but I am serious to the point that I am being consistent with my workouts and have begun to incorporate being healthy into my daily lifestyle.

About two weeks ago the Doctor told me I couldn’t go to the gym or do any intense exercise for the next 2-3 weeks, until the ‘sprained cartilage’ in my chest healed. It took me six days to feel a little bit better and I attempted fate with the Crosstrainer. I went again the following evening and immediately the pain in my chest worsened. So, in order for me to feel better – mentally and emotionally – I needed to come up with a solution to workout without working.

I started “ab training”, since I can’t physically lift weights on my arms as it triggers the chest pains. So I came up with 3Twenty Abs: (the only workouts I can do in my current condition!)

  • Pike Hold – 3 Reps of 20secs
  • Pike Sit Ups (adding a 4kg+ weight whilst doing it once I get better) – 3 Reps of 20
  • Plank – 3 Reps of 20secs
  • Side Plank – 3 Reps of 20secs
  • Lunges – 3 Reps of 20 (10 each leg)
  • Squats – 3 Reps of 20

As well as doing these, I go walking – as jogging is a trigger too – but I still don’t get the same satisfaction I get from the gym. From the crosstrain and the treadmill. So I guess I just have to weight to get better!

Although tomorrow I am going to go to the gym to attempt #LegDay.

IMG_20150118_012950

.

Leave a Reply

